Skip to main content Skip to navigation

System Planning

The WSU system


The 6-campus Washington State University system enrolls 31,607 students, employs more than 7,000 full- and part-time faculty and staff statewide, and offers several highly ranked academic programs on its 5 physical campuses (Pullman, Spokane, Tri-Cities, Vancouver, and Everett) and online through the Global Campus.

In addition, WSU Extension has offices in each of the state’s 39 counties. The University also operates 4 Research and Extension Centers in key agricultural areas (Mount Vernon, Prosser, Puyallup, and Wenatchee), and in collaboration with the U.S. Small Business Administration and other partners, operates 25 Small Business Development Centers statewide. The WSU Energy Program, based in Olympia, provides information and expert services to advance energy efficiency for organizations and consumers.


The University operates as an integrated university system, with all campuses adhering to the same set of goals, practices, and policies—known as One WSU.

For example, degree requirements are similar across campuses; all instructors and researchers, regardless of their location, are considered part of one faculty; and the offices of student affairs and finance and administration are regarded as distinct but highly integrated components of the same divisions. The University has been redefining its administrative and operational structures to ensure delivery of an integrated set of services while allowing each campus autonomy via the leadership of the chancellor and a clearly defined identity.

Crafting a system plan

Among the identified goals of the new WSU system plan:

  • Further integration of academic and administrative units system-wide to enhance effectiveness and efficiency
  • Identifying new opportunities for innovation and collaboration by integrating campus strengths


Other current major institutional planing documents



Campus culture


Innovation and entrepreneurship

Student success

The Grand Challenges

Current campus, college, and unit strategic plans

WSU Global Campus

WSU Everett

WSU Pullman
(work begins spring 2020)

WSU Spokane

WSU Tri-Cities

WSU Vancouver


Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences (PDF)

Arts and Sciences (PDF)

Carson College of Business

Edward R. Murrow College of Communication



Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture

Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine (PDF)


Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (PDF)

Veterinary Medicine

Other major units

Academic Outreach and Innovation


Finance and Administration

Government Relations and External Affairs

Graduate School (PDF)

Human Resource Services

Information Technology


Marketing and Communications

Office of Research

International Programs

Student Affairs

WSU Foundation